VAT / MTD Authorisation Failure

Problem reported by Graham Stewart 1 week ago

I have been successfully using Clear Books for the last 18 months to file my VAT returns with HMRC, using the MTD facilities. On the 2nd November I was requested to re-authorise the MTD connection between HMRC and Clear Books. I did this and the 'VAT Return - Overview' page showed a green bar stating 'Successfully authorised Clear Books to file MTD submissions' (luckily I took the screen-shot below). The screen also stated that my MTD for VAT status was 'Pending' at HMRC.

I have been chasing HMRC about this 'Pending' status, as it would appear to be an HMRC problem. Having spoken to 2 different agents already (both said they would get back to me and didn't), I spoke to another today. It would appear that Clear Books is not an authorised application on my HMRC VAT account and I was told I need to pass this issue back to Clear Books.

It seems that Clear Books is still displaying an incorrect message to me (as nothing is pending with HMRC, according to HMRC) and that the re-authorisation process failed, but Clear Books reported it as successful. At this time I am unable to even view my obligation periods of file anything through the system.

Any advice would be appreciated, as I have until the 7th December to submit my return.

Thanks, Graham Stewart

file

file

7 Replies

Hi Graham,

Thank you for the detailed explanation. In this case, looking at the HMRC screenshot, it seems as though you have authorised the account with a different set of credentials used previously. Could you have 2 different set of Government Gateway credentials?

Tommy

Hi Tommy,

I have only 1 set of credentials which have been the same for the past 5 years. The HMRC agent also confirmed there is currently no authorised software on my VAT account.

thanks Graham

Hi Graham,

In this case, to double check if the correct Gov Gateway credentials are used, can you head to Tax > VAT > MTD Onboarding > Click on Step 4 > Click Sign up to MTD. If the correct credentials are used, HMRC will throw an error that you have already signed up. However, if they are incorrect, HMRC will show a success message.

Could you let me know the outcome?

Thanks,

Tommy

Hi Tommy,

After following the steps above then logging into the gateway, "You have already signed up" is displayed.

thanks Graham

Hi Graham,

Would it be possible to email in the company name this relates to into support@clearbooks.co.uk please?

Tommy

Problem resolved.

Seemed to be a glitch between HMRC and Clear Books that was solved by de-authorising and re-authorising Clear Books with HMRC. Was probably as a result of some HMRC software updates early in November.

Great support from Tommy - many thanks.

No problem at all - glad it's resolved!

Tommy

Reply to this problem

Attach images by dragging and dropping or upload
 

Your comments will be public and can be answered by anyone in the Clear Books community.

Find out what we do and who we are